Sunshine Award + Informal Update

I got nominated for the Sunshine Award! This time with a twist, which is that I may or may not have noticed this, and therefore this post is about 3 weeks late. But more on that later.

Thank you very much to Yahari Bento for this precious shoutout! All you nice people make me feel bad that I’m not super active here. Yahari is another anime blogger with in-depth content about anime and manga, and you should all check him out.

Sun makes me happy!

Rules

  1. Display Award
  2. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you.
  3. Answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
  4. Summon Nominate 11 bloggers from the magic circle and write then 11 new questions.

Here are my questions

1. Favorite Anime this year (Series or Film)?

Easily Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, the first season was my favorite anime last year, and so far the Second Season is of the same quality. I just haven’t seen anything else that I liked as much, so Rakugo continues to be my favorite thing in modern times!

2. Favorite Genre?

This is a tough one. It’s between Slice of Life, Romance, and Drama. I love shows that incorporate all of those, however I can never pick one singular one that I like the best.

3. An Old Series I’d Like To Watch Again?

Depends on what we want to consider old. With the fast and ever-moving pace of the anime community, even 10 year old anime get labeled “old”. If we go by that metric, than I’d cop out and say Ouran High School Host Club, since it is my favorite anime. However, there are a lot of older anime I need to watch in general. One that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while is the Vision of Escaflowne, so I’d rather give this as my real answer.

4. 3 Favorite Anime/Manga Characters?

My Top 3 has been Holo the Wise Wolf (Spice and Wolf), Haruhi Suzumiya (Haruhi Franchise) and Skuld (Ah! My Goddess). I haven’t seen Spice and Wolf in a long time, so I’m not as sure about Holo anymore. If I were to remove her, Tamaki Suou (Ouran Host Club) would likely replace her.

5. Favorite anime this season?

Answered this earlier, and I still feel comfortable saying Rakugo Season 2!

6. Do I play Video Games?

Occasionally. I’ve played a lot of Pokémon in my days, but mostly the main series ones. I like watching competitive Smash Bros (Melee and Sm4sh mostly), and will gladly play anytime. I’m also a master at Mario Kart, (Double Dash, Wii, 7).

7. Which main characters from which anime do you want to descend from anime world to appear in front of you?

Issac and Miria from Baccano! is usually my go-to answer, but I wouldn’t be able to actually go on a heist with them. So I guess that leaves me with either Seo Yuzuki (Monthly Girls Nozaki-kun) or Tsukimi Kurashita (Princess Jellyfish)

8. While you are playing internet, what do you like to eat while do that?

Chips or popcorn are nice usually!

9. What do you like to drink? Coffee, Tea, Milk, or fruit juice?

Out of these 4, juice is my favorite (specifically Orange). Otherwise I enjoy me some Dr. Pepper or Root Beer.

10. If this world will not produce any anime anymore, you will…

Be very sad, but continue to watch other forms of animation from around the world. Or I just continue watching the decades worth of anime I wasn’t around to see.

11. Right now, are you sleepy, aren’t you?

Shockingly no, though usually I am when I do this!

Nominee’s for this award!

It’s at this section that I forget that I don’t network enough on this sight, so there aren’t enough people for me to nominate.

  1. Fujinsei
  2. Mage In A Barrel
  3. Frog-kun
  4. UEM (Jeko)

Questions for you

  1. Is there one specific thing you want every anime to do?
  2. Most Overrated anime?
  3. What’s an underrated anime film?
  4. Do you read manga as well?
  5. What do you think is the most obscure/under-the-radar thing you’ve watched in anime?
  6. Do you have any interest in other animation?
  7. What’s for dinner tonight?
  8. Who was the first seiyuu you could recognize by voice alone?
  9. Any anime that could have been improved with romance?
  10. Do you watch OPs and EDs? If so, what do you want them to do?
  11. What’s the wierdest thing anyone’s said to you over the internet?
Update and other small Ramblings

It was insanely difficult to get that last Progressive Plots post out in time. My motivation to watch and finish anime has been pretty shaky. Between this and other school related stuff, I’ve been severely lacking in the watching new anime department. I am nearly a month behind on all airing shows I’m watching (but that’s probably also because I only like about 4/10 that I’m watching). Though I’m trying to be a more active person IRL, in hopes that it’ll help me get focused on the anime I’m watching.

This is what’s made this blog so inactive, besides the usual. I’ll try not to miss accomplishments such as Yahari’s Award again, since it’ll get me more involved!

I was planning on making a Most Anticipated Films of 2017 list, but it’s a bit late for that, so it’s not happening. At least as a formal post, I’ll just talk about it here.

  1. Rock Dog (I want to see how a Chinese-American film will be recieved)
  2. Coco (Pixar needs to make more films that aren’t tied to existing franchises)
  3. Girl Without Hands/My Life As A Zucchini (2 GKIDS releases that made waves in the festival circuit)
  4. LEGO Batman (I liked LEGO Movie, and this looks like fun)

I can’t remember off the top of my head what the other one’s I like where. But there wasn’t too much I was really excited about this year. However, I said this last year and enjoyed 2016 in animation for the most part. There are a few other films I’m hoping to see such as A Silent Voice, or Mune but I have no idea if/when they’ll get a localization.

I’m going to get another Progressive Plots post done (now that I’ve done a yaoi and a yuri, I get to try something different), but I don’t want it to be my only formal post this month. I’ll be finishing up a piece for reddit, which I will post here, and hopefully stop sitting on this Mary and Max piece.

I guess that’s it for now, I’ll try and get to writing soon as I can, and posting.

Author: (AniMo)nologues

I am an animation fanatic. While I do watch Disney and Pixar, and other blockbuster studio stuff, I specialize in the big picture of animation. This includes Indie projects, Anime, World Cinema, other TV Series and Short Films. This blog will serve as a way to write stuff and get my opinions out there with the absence of video making equipment. I will post rambled thoughts, and possibly reviews or countdowns.

1 thought on “Sunshine Award + Informal Update”

Leave a Reply

