Quick Salute to Nina Paley

Happy International Women’s Day…what do I do? OH WAIT

Here is the website of a film directed by an amazing female animator

I would go more into detail, but I wasn’t aware of International Women’s Day before a few days ago and didn’t have enough time to flesh this out. Also, I plan on doing a big case study surrounding Sita Sings The Blues on here or possibly an upcoming Youtube channel. For now, here are the basics on Ms. Paley!

Nina Paley is an independent cartoonist and animator. Her best known work is the film Sita Sings The Blues, which most people in animation knows exists as a sizable middle finger to copyright. She was the writer, director, producer, animator, editor, production designer. Using the Indian epic The Ramayana as a base for the story, focusing on the character of Sita and mixing it wonderfully with Annette Hanshaw’s songs from the early 30’s.

Nina Paley’s experience with this film turned her into a copyright activist, who has even been featured on TED. Her knowledge on copyright makes for some very very good reads, as does everything else she produces.

If you get a spare hour and a half during your day, check her out and watch Sita Sings The Blues, because you can watch it for free LEGALLY.

Author: (AniMo)nologues

I am an animation fanatic. While I do watch Disney and Pixar, and other blockbuster studio stuff, I specialize in the big picture of animation. This includes Indie projects, Anime, World Cinema, other TV Series and Short Films. This blog will serve as a way to write stuff and get my opinions out there with the absence of video making equipment. I will post rambled thoughts, and possibly reviews or countdowns.

One thought on “Quick Salute to Nina Paley”

  1. Pingback: An informal update

Leave a comment